Wedding Cake Disaster

Business By letterlady22 Updated 26 Jul 2017 , 1:31am by kakeladi

letterlady22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
letterlady22 Posted 23 Jul 2017 , 12:35am
post #1 of 11

I am a hobby baker - that is I don't have a business but friends and friends of friends like what I can do and occasionally pay me to bake - maybe once or twice a year.

I made a wedding cake and 200 cupcakes - got to the venue - carried the cake box to a table but while preparing the area, one of the servers picked up the box and tipped it.  I don't know whether the cake fell over because of her, or if it fell over on the way there.  It is a home made insulated carrier that is completely closed.  When I left the house everything was secure. I had to do some decorating on site - fresh fruit was supposed to cascade over the cake plate and onto the pedestal it sat on.  I tried to fix it but the upper tiers fell over and crushed the bottom - there was no fix.  The fact that it was an outside wedding in 90 degree heat and the bride wanted fruit fillings doesn't help.  I had supports for the tiers and bamboo skewers going through the boards for stability.

I plan to talk to the bride and/or family - but how much responsibility should I assume?  It is possible that the server's actions caused the problem, but I have no way to prove that.  I feel horrible.

10 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 23 Jul 2017 , 3:11am
post #2 of 11

sorry you're going through this -- i hate that that happened --

one question is, why can't you prove the server tipped it?  start asking around -- but if you cannot prove the server tipped the box then unfortunately you'd assume all responsibility wouldn't you? 

and yes fruit fillings in 90 degree heat is a problem -- what kind of fillings?

but if your carrier is insulated why would the cake fall? was the cake cold -- how much was it tipped? lots of questions

i don't know