Buttercream Estimates! How Much!?

Decorating By Hunterjh18 Updated 6 Dec 2017 , 3:23pm by Hunterjh18

Hunterjh18 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hunterjh18 Posted 12 Jul 2017 , 2:24pm
post #1 of 6

Hello hello! 

So I'm new to the baking world, and I love it so far! But I'm stumped trying to plan ahead regarding buttercream. 

I have an order of 75 cupcakes for this Saturday and I'm not sure how much buttercream I need.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!! 

Thanks in advance! :D

5 replies
640Cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
640Cake Posted 12 Jul 2017 , 2:53pm
post #2 of 6

I would only need one batch, but my American Buttercream recipe uses 4 lbs of powdered sugar (more of a double batch).  I am not sure what buttercream (ABC, SMBC, IMBC) and recipe you are using, so I cannot say what your typical batch yields.  I also do not know how you are frosting your cupcakes to know how much each one would have.  If it's a colored buttercream, I would say maybe triple your recipe ?? to ensure you have enough as it is hard to color match if you run out.  I would think most recipes would cover 24 cupcakes, depending on design.

I always make extra...buttercream can be frozen - and comes in handy in a pinch - especially colored!  Colored buttercream is made about a week in advance to allow the color to develop.

Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 12 Jul 2017 , 3:28pm
post #3 of 6

To be honest....I've been decorating for 35 years and I still do a bad job estimating how much icing I need for a cake!  

Cupcake icing depends on how much you plan to use on each.  Are you piping a tall swirl, or just covering the tops?  

I'd say two 2 pounds of powdered sugar batches should be an ample amount. 

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 12 Jul 2017 , 8:49pm
post #4 of 6