Modeling Chocolate In Florida?

Decorating By Rachel19 Updated 17 Aug 2017 , 12:30am by Rachel19

Rachel19 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rachel19 Posted 26 Jun 2017 , 3:14am
post #1 of 13

I have a wedding coming up in August that will have antlers on top made of copper tubing and modeling chocolate.  I have never worked with modeling chocolate before.  It will be at an indoor venue, but my question is if I would have issues with it during transport.  I'm in Florida, so in August it could easily be 100 degrees and crazy humid.  Would I be better off maybe putting them in a cooler for the drive, then attaching on-site?

12 replies
aldonza Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aldonza Posted 26 Jun 2017 , 5:24am
post #2 of 13

Can't wait to see pics!

cutiger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutiger Posted 27 Jun 2017 , 1:20pm
post #3 of 13

I live in South Carolina and fight the heat and humidity all summer.  I would definitely keep the antlers in a cooler and attach at the last minute.  Do they have to be made from modeling chocolate?  Especially if there is any chance that it will be hot in the venue.  I made some using wire and fondant and let them dry for a week, and added tylose to the fondant, and they still didn't hold up due to the humidity.  Sure hope what ever you use goes well for you!  

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 27 Jun 2017 , 6:55pm
post #4 of 13

Since antlers are relatively simple and do not require a lot of intricate details, I would probably use fondant or a fondant/modeling chocolate mixture.  I've done a lot a work with modeling chocolate and believe it should be fine if it is in an air conditioned environment.  I've only experienced a problem when it is stored in an unairconditioned space.  I live in Tennessee and the summer heat and humidity is almost as bad as Florida.  Just to be extra cautious, you could transport the antlers in a cooler and attach at the venue.