Gifting A Wedding Cake

Business By Mnadeem Updated 23 Jun 2017 , 12:29pm by katy_cakes

Mnadeem Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mnadeem Posted 22 Jun 2017 , 4:36am
post #1 of 12

Hi everybody!

i just joined cake central (I am an amateur baker), and wanted to ask for etiquette advice regarding gifting a cake. 

Basically, I am invited to my boyfriend's sister's wedding (not entirely sure if it matters, but as a plus one), but I have met her multiple times and we have a good relationship. She has seen/tasted some of the cakes and desserts I have made, and asked me about the possibility of making her wedding cake. She asked me about pricing, and this is where the dilemma comes in. My boyfriend insists that I shouldn't have to get her a wedding gift, but I feel odd charging full price for a cake for this family, as they have been so kind to me and over the years have made me feel like part of the family.

The cake would be for 100 servings, and it is a rather simple naked cake. Would this be too large of an item to gift? Or would it be tacky to say perhaps that I would give a 50% discount, or only charge for supplies with my labor being the gift for them?

It is probably clear from my questions, but this is my first time being invited to a wedding, and I am not sure what the etiquette is. My boyfriend is usually very nonchalant about this sort of thing, so I don't entirely trust when he says I shouldn't have to contribute to a gift

11 replies
me_me1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
me_me1 Posted 22 Jun 2017 , 5:29am
post #2 of 12

I don't think there's really any right or wrong answer to this one but there are a few things to think about. In the end, it is up to you and the bride. If you want it to be your gift, then approach her and ask if she would like that.