You All Are So Awesome. Please Help. I Have ?s

Decorating By aldonza Updated 11 Jun 2017 , 2:48am by SandraSmiley

aldonza Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aldonza Posted 30 May 2017 , 2:34am
post #1 of 32

A friend from church asked me to bake a cake for her daughter's 16th birthday because "Giant Eagle cakes are too expensive." I was assuming she wanted a sheet cake and of course I would give her the "friends and family discount" only charge for ingredients and half labor. They don't have a lot of money, then again, neither do I lol. She said her daughter was looking at cakes and she sent me the one below only she wants it done in her school colors. You guys are the pros and I am just starting out so I am in serious need of help. I want you to know I truly appreciate it! So here are my questions:

Ballpark how much would you charge for this cake?

Should I make a smaller version of this cake? (of course the amount of cake would coincide with guests)

How the heck do you make the crown? Squish fondant around wire maybe?

31 replies
AAtKT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AAtKT Posted 30 May 2017 , 9:30am
post #2 of 32

If your friend thinks that grocery store cakes are too expensive, then she is going to find the pricing of that outrageous...

The carved pillow tier and crown would probably be double the cost of a grocery store cake at least...

How are your prices cheaper than the grocery store?  Maybe you aren't charging enough?

Explain to your friend that if she wants that cake, it would cost significantly more than what you are charging her... And make sure she knows the price you are charging her is severely discounted...

As for how to make the crown... gumpaste or fondant extruded and dried... needs to be made a week ahead minimum... then painted and dried more...