Freezing A Strawberry Filled Cake.

Baking By SAMB4LIFE Updated 10 Jun 2017 , 1:21am by SAMB4LIFE

SAMB4LIFE Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SAMB4LIFE Posted 27 May 2017 , 2:16pm
post #1 of 10

Hey everyone! I'm making a four layer cake filled with strawberry cooked filling! This is my first time making one that I need to freeze for a few days! I plan to make a dam using French buttercream, to keep the filling from leaking out. It's going to be crumb coated with Swiss buttercream and covered with fondant. Is it ok to do this or do I have to fill and refrigerate it the day before it's due? I really want to just decorate the day before, so I'm trying to find a solution. Your help is appreciated!! Thanks! 

9 replies
IslandCaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IslandCaker Posted 27 May 2017 , 3:36pm
post #2 of 10

Cornstarch breaks down when frozen so if you used that as a thickener, it cannot be successfully frozen and maintain the texture.

SAMB4LIFE Posted 27 May 2017 , 11:51pm
post #3 of 10

Thanks so much for responding IslandCaker!! Do you know of a recipe that I could use that doesn't use cornstarch and won't bleed? 

IslandCaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IslandCaker Posted 28 May 2017 , 12:10pm
post #4 of 10

I have only used a recipe with cornstarch so I wouldn't want to recommend one I haven't tried.  You may want to check out the recipes here - there are several for strawberry filling that do not have cornstarch.  fyi, you can successfully freeze gelatin.  Good luck. 

SAMB4LIFE Posted 31 May 2017 , 1:52am
post #5 of 10

Ok! Thank you so much for your help! ☺️

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 1 Jun 2017 , 3:35am
post #6 of 10

I would not consider trying to freeze anything made with fresh strawberries, but if you need to make it in advance (and I agree with you), have you considered using commercial strawberry jam or preserves?  That should freeze without a problem.