Buttercream/frosting Queries

Decorating By haylieclaire Updated 25 Apr 2017 , 12:02pm by A-CupOfTee

haylieclaire Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
haylieclaire Posted 24 Apr 2017 , 12:15pm
post #1 of 8

Hi everyone

I'm new to the forum and have a few queries regarding buttercream/frosting that I would be grateful if you could give me some advice on.

I am not a professional cake maker (I'm an accountant!) but I've offered to make my niece's cake for her birthday in a moment of madness to help my sister keep costs of the party down. It's a shimmer & Shine theme.

I plan to do a rosette cake for the bottom tier and a fondant covered top tier, I practised the rosette cake for a colleague's birthday (I will try and attach pics of the cake - if not I will set it as my profile pic) and it came out really well however the buttercream was a bit too sweet.

I used a youtube recipe of 1 part unsalted butter to 2 parts powdered sugar + a few tbsp milk + vanilla extract, and it piped really well it was just too sweet.

So now I'm panicking a bit because I was going to use that buttercream recipe on my niece's cake for the rosettes and also for under the fondant.

Please can you let me know of any alternative frostings that would pipe well for the rosettes and also for under the fondant that aren't intensly sweetButtercream/frosting Queries? (They don't have to be the same I could make two types if it's more appropriate to use different frostings).

Thanks in advance.

Haylie 

7 replies
A-CupOfTee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
A-CupOfTee Posted 24 Apr 2017 , 2:01pm
post #2 of 8