Trouble With Tall Fondant Tiers

Decorating By Silmarpinsar Updated 14 Apr 2017 , 4:24pm by Silmarpinsar

Silmarpinsar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Silmarpinsar Posted 12 Apr 2017 , 1:35pm
post #1 of 16

Hi everyone! I'm a huge fan and reader of Cake Central and today I'm ready to make my first post. I'm not very good at working with fondant, and I'll be making a quinceañeras cake next week. I wanted to practice since it involves a double barrel cake and tall "double tiers" to get extra pieces. I can't use chocolate ganache or meringue based buttercreams because I live in a very humid country, and right now we're in the middle of summer. Mi "practice" cake is not perfectly smooth

15 replies
Silmarpinsar Posted 12 Apr 2017 , 2:06pm
post #2 of 16

Trouble With Tall Fondant TiersTrouble With Tall Fondant Tiers

Silmarpinsar Posted 12 Apr 2017 , 2:09pm
post #3 of 16

The problem is in the middle part, right were the cake board divides the layers! You can totally see that there is something over there, and it doesn't look perfectly smooth... Any suggestions? Thanks a lot in advance!

Jocey1358 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jocey1358 Posted 12 Apr 2017 , 2:44pm
post #4 of 16

My suggestion would be to make a thicker coat of buttercream when you ice the cakes. It should help with the part of the cake that has a cake board and it should help cover the parts where you can see the cake through the fondant. Good luck!

TC123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TC123 Posted 12 Apr 2017 , 4:24pm
post #5 of 16

Also, to help you with the "seam" in the back, you can try working with smoothing the fondant starting from the top down. Once you lay the fondant on top of the cake, just smooth down from the top, going gently, continuing to fan out the bottom part of the fondant until you get to the very bottom. It should help you remove the seam.

Anyway, I just wanted to say that I think you're off to a great start!

Good luck with your special cake!