Overcharging?

Business By Cakey-Pin Updated 15 Mar 2017 , 1:36am by aldonza

Cakey-Pin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakey-Pin Posted 2 Mar 2017 , 3:42pm
post #1 of 10

I was asked to make a 6" round cake with "gold" ganache dripping down it and 44 red velvet cupcakes with flowers piped on to them and sprayed with a gold sheen.  I costed the ingredients, baking cups, boxes, boards etc and then added time on to do everything and gave my figure of £150.  The client thinks it's too expensive and has said they "might just go for a cake".

I'm now concerned that I've overpriced my time and was wondering if you could give me advice on what you would've charged?  I'm new to this and don't mean to come across as though I'm a money grabber! 

Thanks.

9 replies
Linda527 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Linda527 Posted 5 Mar 2017 , 3:19am
post #2 of 10

Are all of you who are responding from Europe? 

I really am curious to know if your supplies costs are expensive. 

ypierce82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ypierce82 Posted 5 Mar 2017 , 4:17am
post #3 of 10

I'm in the US, and I think the price is right. There are people around me that charge $9.00 per slice, or have a minimum order of $150.00, so if you want a 6 inch cake, it's going to cost you $150.00. If you have priced all of your ingredients, overhead, and are paying yourself a good hourly wage, and what you're charging covers all of that, so be it. You're not being a money grabber, but you're not working for free, either. And there is more to pricing than just the cost of supplies. 

Linda527 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Linda527 Posted 5 Mar 2017 , 7:29am
post #4 of 10

Ypierce82  you are Damn lucky to be in a location that you can charge that. I would never be able to sell anything in my area if I charged that. The demographics of where I am it is mostly blue collar and lo income families.