Copying Someone Elses Cake

Business By Momma_bakes Updated 21 Nov 2016 , 4:31am by nyjdmevo

Momma_bakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Momma_bakes Posted 17 Nov 2016 , 5:08pm
post #1 of 5

How do you feel about this? I have had customers google a picture of a cake then send it to me and ask me to make it.  At first I didnt mind but now Im not so sure. Some customers say " Hey could you make a cake SIMILAR to this?" and some say "Could you make a cake EXACTLY like this?"  For those of you who dont copy cakes, how do you politely tell a customer that you dont?

4 replies
lbeachartist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lbeachartist Posted 17 Nov 2016 , 6:08pm
post #2 of 5

Very interesting question and thank you for posting it.  Besides making cakes, I am also a fine art artist.  Through the ages artists have always drawn inspiration from the work of others.  In other words, creating their own interpretation of a work they have seen.  I am certain I have been inspired by looking at other cakes, but in the end I create my own interpretation.  That is what makes it yours, and actually more fun to make.  If I knew exactly how each of my cakes would look in the end, then it would just be a boring process to get there!  The journey is the reward. I would just tell your client that you will do your interpretation of the concept.  My cakes are mostly made for charity auctions and bring in as much as $2.500.  For instance I recently had to make a very large cake for a swim school.  I looked at other cakes for water ideas.  I then knew I would make my own piping gel to use for water.  Without looking at some of the other cakes I am sure I wouldn't realize all of the possibilities available. But the end cake was unique to me.  It is all a rewarding journey.

Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 17 Nov 2016 , 9:49pm
post #3 of 5