First Time Baking A Cake, Need Some Tips

Baking By krd0429 Updated 24 Oct 2016 , 6:04pm by remnant3333

krd0429 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
krd0429 Posted 23 Oct 2016 , 2:33am
post #1 of 7

So typically I am a cookie baker as I love cookies and I am eh about cake, but my boyfriends 21st birthday is coming up and I want to bake him a vanilla cake with strawberry and whip cream filling. I already have a box of french vanilla cake mix and a box instant pudding mix.  To doctor it up I was planning on the following:

-Butter instead of oil

-A packet of instant pudding mix

-Whole milk instead of water

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

-An extra egg

For the whipped cream I was going to use heavy cream, powdered sugar, vanilla extract, and unflavored gelatin to stabalize it, but idk what proportions to use or how much heavy cream I even need to cover and fill the cake. 

Also I heard that sprinkling sugar on top of the cake helps it come out flat. I also saw that you can cut up towels or get cake strips but I am a broke college kid not willing to cut up my towels or go buy cake strips for a one time cake. 

If anyone could tell me if this is a good route to take or any other easy (cheap) tips? 

Also silly question but when I bake the cake do I have to put parchment paper on the bottom or is butter and flour good enough? 

Thanks in advance!

6 replies
Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 23 Oct 2016 , 3:26am
post #2 of 7

Your plan is sound. I've never heard of sprinkling sugar on top to make it flat, that's new to me! I wouldn't recommend it. When you fill the pans try spinning the pans on the counter. The centrifugal force will drive the batter evenly up the sides a bit and help your cake bake a little more evenly. You don't HAVE to put parchment paper in the bottom, but it is the infallible way to get a cake out cleanly.

Bakerlady2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bakerlady2 Posted 23 Oct 2016 , 4:39am
post #3 of 7