Making My First Vanilla Butter Naked Wedding Cake - Help!

Baking By JoJo4 Updated 27 Aug 2016 , 5:13pm by kakeladi

JoJo4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoJo4 Posted 26 Aug 2016 , 6:37pm
post #1 of 14

Hi all,

This is actually my very first wedding cake as I have refused up until now to make one. I figured a naked cake was an "easy" cake cuz I didn't have to smooth and have nice edges and decorate etc! Welllll it's not appearing to be quite that easy. I have done a lot of research on how to make it not dry out etc. So I'm feeling good about that. 

The bride of course chose a flavor/type of cake that I have never done before. She wants a Vanilla Butter cake. All the recipes that I find are done in a bundt pan. I'm assuming I can bake in any pan yes? Anyone have any advice about a vanilla butter cake? She wants a plain white buttercream in between the layers - seems kind of plain to me so I suggested some type of jam between some of the layers. 

Anyway, if anyone has any advice on 1) a good recipe for a vanilla butter cake (there is only one listed in the recipes on this site and 2) doing a naked cake, it would be greatly appreciates. Thanks all!

Joanne

13 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 26 Aug 2016 , 9:15pm
post #2 of 14

I have never made a cake using an actual recipe for vanilla butter cake.   If I had to I'd use a favorite white cake recipe replacing the oil called for w/melted butter and probably add some butter flavoring along w/a generous amount of vanilla (like 1 or even 2 Tablespoons).  I have found using a bundt recipe makes a somewhat denser cake but that might be exactly what this bride wants.  Also it bakes best in smaller sizes - any size over 12" could pose problems baking completely in the center.  

As for naked cake just use your b'cream as if a crumb coat - it's that simple.   The thinner the coating of b'cream thebetter.