Confused Re Portion Sizes

Baking By hep275 Updated 17 Jul 2016 , 11:01pm by Cupcakegirl2005

hep275 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hep275 Posted 15 Jul 2016 , 9:59am
post #1 of 21

Hello everyone.  I'm a hobby baker who is now branching out into making the occassional cake for friends....I am confused by portion details though and find the array of charts etc available on the web so confusing.  I've been asked to make a victoria sandwich for a friend - she wants it to serve 10 people.  Now, I know a 9" cake will definitely be fine for that many people but is there an easy to understand guide I can refer to for other requests? 

I think on some of the guides they must work on a slice (ie a vertical section of the cake) then being cut horizontally into half - if that makes sense...because otherwise I simply cannot understand how you get some may 'slices' from a 9 or 10" cake - or does it work on like 2" squares and not slices as I am thinking?  I really hope my question and ramblings make sense - and thank you in advance to anyone kind enough to answer.  Regards,  Helen

20 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 15 Jul 2016 , 11:16am
post #2 of 21

i know, well i think I know that Australia has a coffee size serving and a wedding size serving but they might have different names -- then i'd figure if it was fruitcake you use a different chart but never done fruitcake so there's that -- and all that is beyond my pay grade being an American --

but what i do know for tier cakes that are typically 4-6" tall you can use the 'wilton wedding cake data chart' just search for that and be sure you are on the wilton site because there are screwy images of it out there 

no wonder you're confused