Early Wedding Consultation

Business By Jenn123 Updated 7 Jul 2016 , 5:23pm by Pastrybaglady

Jenn123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenn123 Posted 5 Jul 2016 , 2:00pm
post #1 of 8

A bride contacted me to schedule a tasting. She is only expecting 50-100 people and the wedding is 2 YEARS away! I told her that I don't recommend scheduling tastings more than a year in advance because I only offer one meeting. I don't have time to meet multiple times with people. With baking, travel and meeting time, I usually spend 3-4 hours per person. I've done early ones before and they always change their mind on the choices and want another meeting. I am a small licensed baker with no storefront. I deliver all of my orders (usually 20-40 miles) and travel to their home for consultations. 

She says she is planning her wedding herself on her vacation time. She needs to start early to find a cake that tastes good. Really 2 years? We live in a very small town. Ha Ha

I think it is a waste of time to meet this early... what do you think? Should I tell her politely (again) that I think she should wait? I'm not worried about losing the order, I'm just not sure of the correct way to handle it as a conscientious business woman. 

7 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 5 Jul 2016 , 2:27pm
post #2 of 8

there's a quick on the draw reflex aound here that you should tell people "NO" often -- 

in your case here and in most cases I would recommend saying what you can do and of course that's what you're asking --

for example -- "I want you to come for your tasting in mid 2017 or early 2018 -- it will mean more to both of us then -- in the meantime why don't I make you a 6" cake or a dozen cupcakes which I really don't sell as a rule -- and it will be x amount of money -- not decorated -- (then all in one breath I would say) how does that sound to you what size & flavor would you like ?"