Need Help Regarding License

Business By Ashchi Updated 25 Jun 2016 , 5:40pm by Jinkies

Ashchi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ashchi Posted 25 Jun 2016 , 6:21am
post #1 of 6

Hello everybody im a hobby baker from couple years, have been baking for friends n family and now deciding to take it full time cause im always in the urge to make more cakes and make new designs. so before starting to market my self i need to get license which i gotto know only from this group that we need to have one to do it at home also.

I live in US- California so where should i start and how should i get license and what all the things that i need to know please guide me. any help is appreciated.

Thanks

ASh

5 replies
Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 25 Jun 2016 , 7:09am
post #2 of 6

I'm in Northern California. You start by going to your County Health Department. Tell them you want to bake from your home under the Cottage Food Law. They will give you a packet that will tell you what you need to apply. It should be noted your permit is valid for the calendar year. So if you're going to do it this year do it quickly or you could end up paying the fee twice within a few months.  I needed a Safeserv certificate, a business license, a cottage food law permit, permission from the zoning office.

While you're gathering all of this you should do your research and figure out your pricing structure - there are tons of threads on this topic here - use the search function. You also need to have your basic recipes down pat. That should get you started. Read as much as you can on these boards about business - that is the hard part - contracts, handling difficult customers, customers asking for refunds, taking deposits, cash before cake...

Singerssoul Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Singerssoul Posted 25 Jun 2016 , 4:48pm
post #3 of 6