Trends Vs Industry Standard (Poll)

Lounge By TwoThumbs2 Updated 28 Jun 2016 , 4:07pm by theresaf

TwoThumbs2 Posted 24 Jun 2016 , 4:48pm
post #1 of 39

So, I'm familiar with the 4 inch tier as an industry standard, and I understand that it's easier for cutting and serving...BUT it seems like more and more "Pinterest" cakes have the loftier look of a 5 or 6 inch tier. So my questions are:

1. To what extent do cultural preferences inform industry standards (ie; is 4 inch really still the standard)?

2. What is your personal preference or default?

I'm a friends-and-family hobby baker,  I enjoy it and it keeps me out of trouble, so I don't charge ( I let them reimburse me for ingredients and supplies). But I'm trying to find my "norm" and so far I feel like I'm doing something a little different each time (2 torted layers, 3 untorted layers, etc). I'm considering purchasing the SPS for the next cake I do, but it requires knowing what I'm planning ahead of time, rather than a seat-of-my-pants approach!

I know there have been threads like this in the past, but honestly they seemed pretty old, and I'm curious if folks' opinions and practices have evolved. :)

38 replies
Jinkies Posted 24 Jun 2016 , 5:41pm
post #2 of 39

My cakes are generally 4" tall but sometimes I do 5" because I feel it looks better for the design.  I also sometimes do 5" when I'm trying to give a client a little more cake (like they want an 8" for 25 people).

It's really just personal preference though.  Sometimes, especially with tiered cakes, depending on the design, a taller tier just looks more pleasing to the eye.

I don't do formal wedding cakes, but I've heard that caterers don't like the 5" tiers for the plating issue.  I'm not sure if that's the norm.

Don't forget, a lot of the cakes you see on pinterest, are not real cakes.  They are made specifically for photo shoots and magazines.

-K8memphis Posted 24 Jun 2016 , 5:50pm
post #3 of 39