Customers

Baking By dania27 Updated 10 Jun 2016 , 2:07am by dania27

dania27 Posted 9 Jun 2016 , 8:54am
post #1 of 10

Today I had a customer come in into my shop she wanted me to do a cake for Saturday, fso told her because it was a last min. Order she has to pay in full i charged her $50 a #1 cake with smash cake she was recomended by one of my customers

So she comes and let her try my cake one vanilla and one strawberry she looks at me and says the cake does not taste like homemade wtf??? So i supposed to make a cake for $50 dollars taste like homemade when i don't have any complains on my cake i use milk, butter, and flavoring on my cake and I am a custome cake designer.

9 replies
costumeczar Posted 9 Jun 2016 , 11:34am
post #2 of 10

The customers who wait until the last minute are generally the ones who think the world should stop for them, so you won't win with them a lot of the time. Some of them are grateful that they could get anything at the last minute, but others just complain because they like to complain. She might have been mad that she had to pay up front or whatever. Don't take it personally. Maybe her homemade cake tastes like poop so that's what she's used to ;)

Pastrybaglady Posted 9 Jun 2016 , 7:01pm
post #3 of 10

Most people think "homemade" is a box cake. If yours is scratch it's not what she thinks it should taste like. Did you ever see the cake challenge with Ron Ben Israel vs. a slap together box mix. Every single person tested said they liked the box cake because "Homemade wins every time". It's very disheartening for those of us who bake from scratch, but it is what it is...

dania27 Posted 9 Jun 2016 , 8:19pm
post #4 of 10