How Do You Plan Your Cakes? And Looking For Advice On Mmf.

Decorating By KStreet2013 Updated 11 Jun 2016 , 12:22pm by jchuck

KStreet2013 Posted 4 Jun 2016 , 2:11pm
post #1 of 15

Good Morning!! 

I'm just curious how everyone goes about planning their cake "schedule". Do you do alot in advance which makes one cake take several days or do you do things all in say two days? My cake calendar for the summer is filling up fast and I just want to make sure that I am making the most of my time without completely wearing myself out in the process.

Typically for me, and I am still VERY new at this (about 1 1/2 years under my apron), I have been trying to spread it over 2-3 days depending on what I'm working with.  For example, if my cake is for Saturday,

Thursday - I would make the buttercream and/or Fondant (MMF),

Also my question on the MMF is this: What can I do to give it more stretch? I've been making from scratch from the beginning

Friday - I would bake the cakes and do any make ahead decorations that I could.

Saturday, I would put everything together, making a HUGE mess of my kitchen at the same time. (husband LOVES that)

I am just kind of wondering if there is a more efficient way that might make things go more smoothly or just less chaotic on the "delivery" date.

Also my question on the MMF is this: What can I do to give it more stretch? I've been making from scratch from the beginning because I don't like the taste of store bought (and it's SOOOO expensive), and it works nicely except for the holes I inevitably end up with. It's fine as I roll it out and cover the cake, but when I'm smoothing it down, I inevitably end up with a tear or cracks. So how do I give it a little more stretch without ruining the fondant?  Any thoughts or advice on these topics wouldbe awesome! Thanks in advance!

14 replies
jselle Posted 4 Jun 2016 , 2:32pm
post #2 of 15