Heellllp Meeeee

Decorating By PalmettoCakeCo Updated 29 May 2016 , 9:59pm by lalasarahtops

PalmettoCakeCo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PalmettoCakeCo Posted 27 May 2016 , 4:39pm
post #1 of 11

Ok title a little dramatic... But seriously HELP. I'm a NEWbie... Like new, new to cake making. You'll be able to tell by my question. 

I'm in Columbia, South Carolina. "The Arm Pit of the South" as some call it. Because it's HOT, HUMID, and really miserable in the summers. (I should be a spokesperson for the state! ha!) My cakes are FAILING miserably with fondant. I know why - Cover with fondant, put in fridge (very bad now I know) take out, condensation = disgusting goopy mess. BUT... My clients want fondant... I've tried a hybrid cream cheese/butter cream frosting under which seems to be better, but not quite there. Buttercream with shortening isn't as bad, but doesn't taste as good as my other frostings. I get conflicting info on what the best option - Regarding freezing/refrigeration, etc. bc I'm assuming bc I'm using a dairy based frosting (as of now) I HAVE to put in the fridge for storage, don't I?? Ahh! Is Ganache the best option? 

THANK YOU for any advice you can give this clueless baker :D 

10 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 27 May 2016 , 5:06pm
post #2 of 11

maybenot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maybenot Posted 27 May 2016 , 11:47pm
post #3 of 11

Cream cheese is notorious for breaking down fondant, so I can't recommend continuing to use it.

For very hot, humid weather, your best bet is a high ratio shortening based American buttercream that uses no dairy products.  This is shelf stable and resistant to warmer temps.  You can add emulsions or extracts to change the flavor.

A dark chocolate ganache will work well, but won't go with every cake flavor.  Dark chocolate has the highest melting point of all chocolates.