Family Discounts On Cakes?

Baking By pineapplesky407 Updated 26 May 2016 , 8:32pm by johnson6ofus

pineapplesky407 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pineapplesky407 Posted 25 May 2016 , 5:21pm
post #1 of 15

I have been asked to make a 2 tier fondant cake for my boyfriend's cousin. They offered to pay me for it, but I don't think they realize how price these cakes can get. I was considering just charging for materials and a low hourly rate for time (I am a new baker and am not that experienced). I REALLY don't want to offend anybody with my price. Any tips?

14 replies
jselle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jselle Posted 25 May 2016 , 5:28pm
post #2 of 15

I used to be reluctant to charge family and friends, but I found myself doing a lot of free cakes that way. I now treat all customers the same but will give a 10% "family and friends" discount to relatives or close friends. I still get paid and they are happy. 

peony123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peony123 Posted 25 May 2016 , 5:50pm
post #3 of 15

Just be upfront with them - you're absolutely right that people don't realize the cost of making these cakes. This week I tried my hand at making some IMB and SMB and used up a a carton and a half of eggs and 2 boxes of butter. I didn't even factor in the ingredients to make the cake itself. So yes it is very pricey, and I think you should charge them the materials and what you think is fair in labor. If they don't like your price oh well. 

gfbaby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gfbaby Posted 25 May 2016 , 7:25pm
post #4 of 15

Quote by @peony123 on 1 hour ago

Just be upfront with them - you're absolutely right that people don't realize the cost of making these cakes.