First Time Cake Baker Needs Party Prep Advice

Decorating By Ligreclm Updated 26 May 2016 , 4:38pm by kakeladi

Ligreclm Posted 25 May 2016 , 1:10am
post #1 of 16

Hi All -

I am a NEW baker and froster FYI. I am baking the cakes for my daughter's first birthday party. I already have 5 cakes frozen and I have 5 or more batches of swiss meringue buttercream frozen for filling and frosting. 

My question is in regards to the order of operations in which I should do everything for the cakes. 

Her party is Saturday at 4PM.

1) When should I thaw the cake and frosting?

2) I plan to store them wrapped in the fridge until ready to use. That's a good method, right?

3) When should I frost the cakes?

4) Where and how should I store the frosted cakes? Fridge? Freezer? Counter?

5) How long can I store the cakes frosted like above?

6) When should I pull them out and put them on display for the party?

I really appreciate everyone's help. Any tips and tricks are appreciated!

15 replies
Ligreclm Posted 25 May 2016 , 1:54am
post #2 of 16

I'd like to add that my cakes are as follows:

1) Devils food chocolate cake w/ hazelnut (Nutella) SMBC (not sure of filling yet, any suggestions?)

2) Vanilla bean cake w/ salted caramel SMBC (not sure of filling yet, any suggestions)

3) Strawberry cake w/ rhubarb curd filling and strawberry rhubarb SMBC

4) Vanilla cake w/ vanilla pudding and vanilla bean SMBC

5) Vanilla cake w/ lemon curd filling and blackberry SMBC

I thought I'd get that out there, in case any of my combos are idiotic! Thanks for your help everyone. 

PattyCakes88 Posted 25 May 2016 , 2:16am
post #3 of 16

Hello!!