Filling A Fallen Cake

Decorating By Coffeeismylyfe Updated 28 May 2016 , 6:48am by -K8memphis

Coffeeismylyfe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Coffeeismylyfe Posted 25 May 2016 , 12:05am
post #1 of 19

Hi, I am new to these parts so I'm sorry if this has been asked to death. I baked a chocolate cake today intending to torte, fill, and cover with fondant. It fell as it cooled. I still torted it, but now I'm questioning if I an compensate for the depression with my buttercream filling. I am concerned about getting a level enough surface to cover with the fondant. Does anyone e have experience or advice they might share?

18 replies
Coffeeismylyfe Posted 25 May 2016 , 12:11am
post #2 of 19

Here is a pic of the indent: [postimage id="3977" thumb="900"]

chocolate0 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chocolate0 Posted 25 May 2016 , 12:22am
post #3 of 19

What I'd do is level out the cake so that the indent is level or almost level with the rest of the cake. It will make it a little bit shorter, yes, but it will level it better than frosting, which l look strange mounded in center, as well.

Coffeeismylyfe Posted 25 May 2016 , 12:33am
post #4 of 19

Here is a pic of the indent: [postimage id="3978" thumb="900"]

theresaf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theresaf Posted 25 May 2016 , 12:47am
post #5 of 19

Your screen name is hilarious! I can relate!

I would level lower too, as said above - you really can't fill the hole with icing.  Maybe it's the photo - is there a chance it's uneven baking / undercooked in the center?

Best,

Theresa

Coffeeismylyfe Posted 25 May 2016 , 12:51am
post #6 of 19

Darn, I already torted so if I level it there would be no layer left! And yes, I think my oven should have been hotter for better baking, but I don't have an oven safe thermometer. Buying one asap!

PattyCakes88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PattyCakes88 Posted 25 May 2016 , 2:25am
post #7 of 19