Wasc In Large Scale?

Business By Chefperl Updated 19 Jul 2016 , 7:24pm by -K8memphis

Chefperl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chefperl Posted 24 May 2016 , 8:31pm
post #1 of 14

I have been baking as a small business for a few years now and for my vanilla cake, I use a WASC variation.  Today I got a phone call from a store that wants me to come work there. I would be the head decorator.  I am so nervous. Nobody knows I use a mix as a base. Does duncan hines come in large scale?  Does anyone use them?  Anyone use a WASC on a large scale? Any help would be useful . TIA

13 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 24 May 2016 , 9:22pm
post #2 of 14

Have you talked to the owners that you will be able to use your baking/mix recipe(s)?  They might not let you use a mix.  

I used it in my bakery but I don't remember how to mix it up anymore as that was about 5-8 yrs ago.  Suppliers can be a big help in multiplying and mixing properly.  That's how I found what was going wrong when I switched to 50# bags of mix.  I got mine from (I believe) Dawn and was told it was the same mix as Pillsbury boxes.  It works very well once I figured out the proper way to mix all the ingredients.  You will have to figure out how much to increase each ingredients and the best way to mix/add them.  It is a little different than working with one box :)

BakeMiaCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakeMiaCake Posted 24 May 2016 , 10:15pm
post #3 of 14

I make my own WASC. I don't like using boxed mixes anymore, I can taste the difference.  And "no added preservatives" is a good selling point.

2 1/2 c sugar

3 3/4 c flour

.25 oz ea - salt, baking pwdr, baking soda

8 oz whole milk

8 oz warm water

3 oz veg oil

.5 oz ea vanilla &  almond extracts

.75 oz white vinegar

4 lg egg whites

8 oz sour cream

Mix and bake as usual

Chefperl Posted 24 May 2016 , 11:01pm
post #4 of 14

can you use non dairy milk? or does it need the fat? I only bake non-dairy