Fondant Bulging Problem

Decorating By Bakerlady2 Updated 18 May 2016 , 12:58am by Bakerlady2

Bakerlady2 Posted 16 May 2016 , 2:36am
post #1 of 16

I'm new to covering cakes with fondant and I always have this problem. I would ice a cake with buttercream and chill it over night. Then next day I would cover it with fondant and get nice straight sides ...then I would stack the cakes but..... the next day each tier would have a bulge around the bottom of it as if the fondant stretched and now it was too long for the sides. I can't fix it at this point because the fondant had harden. what is causing this? I don't think it is the buttercream sliding down because the bulges just have air under them. HELP

15 replies
yjflores1 Posted 16 May 2016 , 6:28am
post #2 of 16 you have support under each tier maybe it's too heavy so it pushes down on the buttercream making the fondant look like that. Or maybe you are putting too much buttercream underneath the fondant . ??  another thing when you place the fondant on top of your cake do you take out all the air bubbles with a fondant smoother or a thin needle ? These are the few things I can think of ! :/

costumeczar Posted 16 May 2016 , 6:26pm
post #3 of 16

Are you leaving the cake out at room temp after covering it?

Bakerlady2 Posted 16 May 2016 , 8:01pm
post #4 of 16

yes , i'm doing all those things. I've been decorating cakes for 30 years ...I just can't to seem to master covering a cake with fondant.  I'll try putting less buttercream under it and see if that helps. I put good support under each tier and always have. what steps do you guys/gals take when your covering a cake with fondant? Do you leave the fondant 1/8 " or less short at the bottom so it doesn't quite touch the tier below it?  Thank you for all the suggestions.

costumeczar Posted 17 May 2016 , 12:30am
post #5 of 16