A Few Questions And Feedback On My First Cake

Baking By peony123 Updated 6 May 2016 , 10:01pm by kakeladi

peony123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peony123 Posted 6 May 2016 , 1:03am
post #1 of 6

Hey everyone! 

This is my first time posting on here - lately I've been really getting into making and decorating cakes and wanted to ask for some feedback on a cake I recently did for my mom's birthday. I made a 4 layer yellow cake with a lemon mousse and strawberry curd filling and frosted the top and filled with sweet cream buttercream.  I have a few questions:

1. So I began layering my cake and after the 2nd layer it started to topple over. I baked 2 cakes in either a 6 or 9 inch pan which was 3 inches deep. Now my cake mix filled the container 50% of the way and then it rose to 75% but it was pulling up into a cone shape so I had to cut it off to level the cake. Then I took the cakes and cut them in half making each layer approximately 1-1.5 inches perhaps, for a total of 4 layers - so roughly 8-9 inches tall altogether. I will say I'm still working on my cake leveling skills and they aren't usually even, but are there any tricks to help prevent the toppling over effect with larger cakes? I saw a girl on youtube use skewer rods to hold hers in place, so I stuck a few in mine that helped a little but not much. I did also layer a thin layer of buttercream, lemon mousse, and strawberry curd as the filling so the cake was very generously filled. Both the mousse and curd had a viscous pudding like consistency.