Beyond Buttercream's Base Cake Dense?!?!

Baking By CharliesMom09 Updated 21 Apr 2016 , 7:34am by Nancylou

CharliesMom09 Posted 18 Apr 2016 , 10:50pm
post #1 of 6

I recently purchased Beyond Buttercream’s base cake recipe. I just tried it for the first time, making the French vanilla version (all egg yolks). It came out of the oven looking wonderful. I followed the directions and removed it from the pan after cooling for 10 min, and it looked wonderful. I followed the directions and tightly wrapped in plastic wrap and put in ‘fridge to cool completely (something I’ve never done before). When I took it out of the ‘fridge, it had reduced to roughly half its original height. I broke into it, and it was extremely dense (as a full-size cake reduced to half its height would!).

I REALLY REALLY want to make this work, as the flavor is fabulous and so many rave about the cake. I’m going to try again tomorrow. Any suggestions? Did I simply wrap it too tightly in the plastic wrap? Did I make an error in the mixing or baking? Thank you in advance for any advice!

5 replies
Nancylou Posted 19 Apr 2016 , 7:44pm
post #2 of 6

This is not one of my every day recipes, so I don't know it as well as some other recipes, but I do remember having a similar outcome the second time I baked it.  I think it may have been that my butter was a little too soft when doing the reverse creaming.  Another possibility is having old baking powder.  It can expire pretty quickly, so maybe retry with a freshly opened can.  Here is a discussion about the recipe.

Maybe some others that know this recipe better can offer some suggestions. 

CharliesMom09 Posted 20 Apr 2016 , 3:26am
post #3 of 6