Would You Decorate A Store Bought Cake?

Business By Toshia7878 Updated 17 Apr 2016 , 10:14pm by Toshia7878

Toshia7878  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Toshia7878 Posted 17 Apr 2016 , 12:17pm
post #1 of 9

I'm just a small home baker. I bake cheesecakes for one restaurant and have 1-2 wedding/shower/bday cakes per wknd. I have a HS acquaintance that has ordered 2x in about 4 yrs.  I would post cakes on facebook and she would say oh I can't wait for you to do my wedding cake!! Time went on with no official booking so I figured she booked someone else. No biggie. I hear from her yesterday that she would like me to do her cake 5/14. An already booked wknd for me. Then she drops this gem. The cake and cupcakes are coming from a grocery store and she just wants me to decorate.  I pry and it is bc the store won't do her Tiffany Blue. I'm a little annoyed, a little offended. What would you do?  2 wks notice to decorate 70 store cupcakes and 1 7in ruffle cake. Especially that I am throwing my sister's baby shower the same day that requires me to make a cake and food.  If it were a stranger I would probably say no flat out. Since I know her and I feel for her bridal stress I'm thinking of it. Ugh, ppl suck. I don't even know what to charge for some crap like that. Advice?

8 replies
 srbeauvais  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
srbeauvais Posted 17 Apr 2016 , 2:18pm
post #2 of 9

I wouldn't do it because you can't guarantee the quality of the product and you don't want your name attached to that. It's like bringing your own steak to a steak house and asking them to add their mushrooms and onions to it. It's not being rude, it's having a standard of quality. Good luck! 

ljdills  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ljdills Posted 17 Apr 2016 , 2:38pm
post #3 of 9