Boxes, Cakeboards, Fondant..etc

Business By joeyww12000 Updated 5 May 2016 , 2:33am by cakingandbaking

joeyww12000 Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 1:03pm
post #1 of 13

I am an at home baker/decorator and I don't keep alot of material just lying around. I usually just get what I need when an order comes in. Lately, business is picking up and I need more supplies such as boxes, cakeboards, and fondant. Where do you guys order these type of supplies from? I was wondering if there is a website most go to. I'm getting beat by not ordering in bulk, and getting everything from Walmart. Also Im done with Wilton fondant and want to go with Satin Ice, but its nowhere to be found in my area. Any suggestions?

12 replies
cakebaby2 Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 1:12pm
post #2 of 13

Its where most of us get our baking supplies not being big box stores.

Obviously fresh stuff like butter, eggs flour etc are best bought from the big stores we all hate lol!

Unless of course you have a place to store it and the turnaround to buy bulk like commercial bakeries?

(and that's why you can't do cheap?)

joeyww12000 Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 3:40pm
post #3 of 13

Any websites you would recommend for boxes and boards?

cakebaby2 Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 4:02pm
post #4 of 13

Yes, but I am in Uk?

Is there no one near you offering similar deals?

Did you get my PM ?

BakerBlackCat Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 5:46pm
post #5 of 13

Cake Boxes and cake boards: BRP Box Shop  --> BONUS: they sell in quantities of 10 or full cases of 100

I get my fondant through Deco-Pac (Satin Ice), or CalJava Online (Fondx).  Deco-Pac is great for tools, and shipping is fre if you kick your order up to $75. 

Ingredients: Costco or Restaurant Depot, depending on how much I need.  Mostly Costco, though.  RD is well over an hour away from me, and Costco is carrying stuff in larger amounts (30# of butter in a case instead of 4#, yay!).

BakerBlackCat Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 5:48pm
post #6 of 13

I can't edit my posts anymore! Grrrr.....