Need Advise!

Lounge By minioetschel Updated 15 Apr 2016 , 11:10pm by MBalaska

minioetschel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
minioetschel Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 11:09am
post #1 of 12

Good Morning! 

I am just a hobby baker but I guess my friends like what I am making.  :-) A friend invited me to her wedding and asked me to make cupcakes for her reception. 

I was told that we would need about 50 cupcakes - I showed them some pictures with cupcake stands that show a mini cake on top. So... a small wedding cake was added. No prob.!!! 

I asked her if she would accept the cupcakes/cake as a wedding gift and she was over the top happy!!!Since then the number has gone up twice and we are at 80 cupcakes.... 

I have a very hard time saying no. 

Now my question: Would it be rude to take left overs back home with me? I think I know the answer but I am not always right. What do you think? 

minioetschel

11 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 11:38am
post #2 of 12

Yes, it would be rude. If it's a gift you don't take the leftovers home.

But don't make more than 80. Not everyone will have one, some people who are pigs will have two, and the people who are too slow will have to go get their own after the reception. 

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 11:45am
post #3 of 12

first of all usually* the only people i give free cake to are my family and for charity events -- just think would you give a $350 valued gift to this friend normally -- so there's that --

and i don't see anything wrong with getting some of the leftovers -- if no one else steps up for them sure take them all -- just depends if their moms are standing guard and ready to elbow each other to gain access...yeah skip it --

but you asking this question means you're seeing the light and you need to be properly compensated for your time talent ingredients and whatever it takes to do it right --