Buttercream Or Swiss Meringue Buttercream? Which Do You Think Is Best?

Decorating By vona26 Updated 22 Apr 2016 , 2:34pm by Singerssoul

vona26 Posted 14 Apr 2016 , 11:02pm
post #1 of 22

21 replies
kakeladi Posted 14 Apr 2016 , 11:30pm
post #2 of 22

Vona it's a personal thing.  What tastes best to one does not taste good to another.  I worked mostly in b'cream - that's ABC. I tried IMBC once and hated it.  When fondant started getting a good foothold I started learning to use it but not many of my customers liked it.   I found it much easier to work w/ b'cream for most applications.

Pastrybaglady Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 2:21am
post #3 of 22

I'm in the SMB camp. Once I tried it there was no turning back.

costumeczar Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 2:39am
post #4 of 22

Totally personal preference. I use IMBC for cake fillings and American buttercream on the  outside of the cake to give people a little of each.

-K8memphis Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 10:39am
post #5 of 22

i would recommend that across time you make each one so you can refine your decision -- those three plus the ermine aka cooked flour recipe -- tons of recipes all across the internet --

i use swiss for outside icing -- but before that i used the recipe that i found in Wilton yearbooks, called 'french buttercream' it's not the french one with the egg yolks it's the cooked flour one -- is a wonderful cake covering -- gets smooth as glass --

plus for piping especially flowers i use abc or royal for flowers and dots -- different icings for different tasks --

best to you

kristykgs Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 11:39am
post #6 of 22

I use SMBC. Have never tried cooked flour or IMBC, but will eventually. Not a fan of ABC, as I find it is too sweet and gritty (but maybe I am not making it right). But as others have said, it is a personal choice. Depends on  your taste buds.

cakebaby2 Posted 15 Apr 2016 , 12:50pm
post #7 of 22