Petite Fours Recipe

Baking By SoniaMT Updated 15 Apr 2016 , 10:45pm by MBalaska

SoniaMT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SoniaMT Posted 12 Apr 2016 , 5:06pm
post #1 of 13

Hey Guys!  I want to make petite fours for a tea party. I have never done them before and im looking to see what the best recipe is. i have seen it done with pound cake. Does it have to be pound cake? Also, what kind of fondant is used to cover...or can i use chocolate ganache? Any tips on flavors, techniques and how to make these cute little things would be greatly appreciated! I wanted to do chocolate since the ladies love dark chocolate. THanks! 

12 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 12 Apr 2016 , 5:32pm
post #2 of 13

Pound cake is very dense and dry so when you cut the squares you don't have the cake crumbling into pieces. But ya...not the most pleasing cake to eat. Theoretically you can use your favourite chocolate cake recipe if the texture is strong enough. Then you cut them into pieces (2x2") frost sides and top and cover (at least the top) with marzipan if you want a super flat surface before anything else. But traditionally you use poured fondant. Cool your cake squares, place one on a fork over poured fondan bowl and pour over the square. Need at least 3 coat to be smooth. You can use chocolate glaze instead. But haven't used it so not sure if cg alone will be sufficient. 

SoniaMT Posted 12 Apr 2016 , 5:42pm
post #3 of 13

Thanks @Julia1812 for the tips. How do i make the fondant to get it to pour? I usually make MMF for cakes and cookies or i use the Wilton store bought. Does this require a specific type of fondant or recipe?

julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 12 Apr 2016 , 5:47pm
post #4 of 13