Tips For Beginner

Decorating By yazzie Updated 4 Apr 2016 , 7:51am by yazzie

yazzie Posted 3 Apr 2016 , 12:15pm
post #1 of 9

Hi I am new to cake decorating. I used to make cakes for the children when they were small, but now I have some spare time I would like to do it as a hobby, I am not very arty so don't know if I will be able to do anything spectacular but I would love to be accomplish a beautiful cake. 

I am finding the thought of piping writing very daunting as I don't have brilliant handwriting will this hamper how I could write on a cake. 

Thank you in advance xx

8 replies
MimiFix Posted 3 Apr 2016 , 12:33pm
post #2 of 9

We all get better with practice. For piping words, I suggest block letters and practicing on a surface that allows you to scrape off and reuse the icing. I use the back of a cake pan, but waxed or parchment paper, plates, etc., are also very good. (But large flat cookies are the tastiest!)

Jinkies Posted 3 Apr 2016 , 1:13pm
post #3 of 9

Yes, practice, as Mimi said, is the key.  My tip would be to go buy a cheap little can of pre-made frosting and use that to practice.   

You could also print out some writing on a piece of paper and put it under  a piece of parchment to use as a guide.  When you've used your frosting up- scrape it off the paper and put it back in your bag and you can use it over and over to practice. 

carolinecakes Posted 3 Apr 2016 , 1:55pm
post #4 of 9

Yes what MimiFix and Jinkies said......  my handwriting looks like chicken scratch, when I discovered TAPPITS, I was in heaven. By all means keep practicing, and while you perfect your piping, you can get a really professional look using the tappits.

Here's a tutorial.......

yazzie Posted 3 Apr 2016 , 4:21pm
post #5 of 9

Thank you so much for your replies. I'm so looking forward to this fab craft and it's so nice to have encouragement form people like yourselves. X

kakeladi Posted 3 Apr 2016 , 5:57pm
post #6 of 9