Geniouse Sponge Cake

Baking By Gilly44 Updated 3 Apr 2016 , 11:02am by Gilly44

Gilly44 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gilly44 Posted 2 Apr 2016 , 12:20pm
post #1 of 6

Hello again fellow bakers out there, another question to put to you, what is the best way to decorate a Genoise sponge cake? Is it possible to cover with fondant, as the sponge is so light would the fondant be to heavy? Advice please. 

5 replies
VanillaGorilla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VanillaGorilla Posted 2 Apr 2016 , 3:01pm
post #2 of 6

Hi Gilly. I'm a newbie with only 1 forum question posted, but I do lots of baking/decorating that began for me about 30 years ago. My first thought was to frost with a fluffy buttercream--I beat the butter for a as long as 10 minutes depending on the amount, then use a little less sugar than the original recipe calls for, and beat again for an extra-long time. After frosting, use a hot spatula to give it a super-smooth finish, then decorate as desired. Just curious, what size cake/how many layers are you using?

Gilly44 Posted 2 Apr 2016 , 4:31pm
post #3 of 6

I am going to bake two layer 7 inch genoise sponge cake. Just thought that fondant would be to heavy,  am I right in thinking that , or could I place a thin layer of fondant. after the crumb coat of buttercream. I look forward to your reading expert opion.TIA . 

Gilly44 Posted 2 Apr 2016 , 4:34pm
post #4 of 6

At the moment I eat sleep and dream cake.  I am keen on taking this forward,  so at the moment I am just practicing on family and friends. Any advice would be much appreciated.  

VanillaGorilla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VanillaGorilla Posted 2 Apr 2016 , 7:45pm
post #5 of 6