My Easy Way To Transfer Patterns On Buttercream -

Decorating By kas2105 Updated 3 Apr 2016 , 6:12pm by SimplyIcedCC

kas2105 Posted 31 Mar 2016 , 6:20pm
post #1 of 16

I've learned so many things from people who post their ideas here that I figured it was time for me to give back. I've been doing this for at least 25 years, ever since my kids were little and I had to make birthday cakes for all their friends. Back then, before we had the internet to find pictures, I used coloring books to find patterns for Ninja turtles, super heroes, princesses or whatever and traced them on a piece of paper with a sharpie so it shows through to the other side, then pipe over the lines on the back of the paper with silicone caulk that I put into a parchment cone. Once the silicone is dry, I just lay the paper with the caulk side down on the crusted icing and smooth over it with my hand and it transfers the pattern just like a cookie cutter would. I still do it to make sure that whatever writing I have to do fits and looks nice on cakes. It's cheap, it's quick and it's easy. I figure that if the caulk is safe for use in fish tanks, it's safe enough to be on a cake for five seconds. I've tried every other pattern transfer method and the silicone on paper is the easiest and most sure way to transfer a pattern exactly the way it's supposed to be.

15 replies
costumeczar Posted 31 Mar 2016 , 7:40pm
post #2 of 16

You can do the same thing with a hot glue gun, too. I love glue guns :)

dooley08 Posted 31 Mar 2016 , 8:31pm
post #3 of 16

What is silicone caulk?  It may seem like a dumb question but I have never heard of this. How thick is it that you are able to trace a picture and then transfer it to a cake?  Have you ever tired the glue gun as mentioned above? You have my curosity up and I want to try this method.  Thank you for sharing.

kakeladi Posted 31 Mar 2016 , 10:36pm
post #4 of 16