Cake Pricing

Business By Knforsyth88 Updated 5 Apr 2016 , 10:27am by cakebaby2

Knforsyth88 Posted 30 Mar 2016 , 5:42am
post #1 of 13

Hi, I am making cakes from home and I need help with the pricing. I've done some research and most people are charging $2-$4 per serving with or without fondant. I know you charge more for details and all that. It is costing me about $25-30 to do a 2 tier (8" & 10") fondant covered cake with homemade icing and Duncan Hines cake mixes and the decorations are handmade. I charge $60-$70 for my 2 tier cakes. I just think that $3-$4 a serving is a bit if the cake was absolutely flawless and amazing I could see paying that. I'm also doing a 3d lightening Mcqueen cars cake in a few weeks to feed about 20-24. I charged $ that a fair price? I really want my customers to be able to afford a nice cake and I also want to make a descent profit also. Any feedback will be great.

12 replies
joeyww12000 Posted 30 Mar 2016 , 9:33am
post #2 of 13

I'm just starting out as well. Prices vary in my area from $3.95-$6.00 per serving depending on the type of cake. I set my prices at $3.50 to $4.50 to fall in the middle and I add for swiss meringue buttercream, fondant, and decorations. All that adds up to time! I always underestimate my time....Almost every cake I make basically takes a full day by the time Im completely done.

julia1812 Posted 30 Mar 2016 , 12:36pm
post #3 of 13

It depends on where you live how much you can and want to charge. But 40$ for a 3d mcqueen cake? Seriously that's way way way to low! I understand you want to charge according to your skill level (don't know how good and FAST you are) but do yourself a favour and pay yourself at least a minimum wage. Otherwise you'll burn out in no time. 

I don't charge per serving, I add up ALL my cost -all of them! - and then add my hourly wage and profit.

costumeczar Posted 30 Mar 2016 , 12:41pm
post #4 of 13

Quote by @Knforsyth88 on 6 hours ago