Opinion On Price

Decorating By kristykgs Updated 23 Mar 2016 , 11:42am by kristykgs

kristykgs Posted 22 Mar 2016 , 6:01pm
post #1 of 12

Hey guys.  The below picture is a 2 tiered butterfly cake using a heart shaped pan. I am a home baker that doesn't do cakes to the public...just cupcakes and cookies. However, a friend of mine wants me to do this cake and I know I can do it. But because I don't normally do them, I have no idea how to price this out. I mean, I know how to price, as I've done it for cupcakes, but I have no idea how long this will take to pipe out. 

So i am looking to get options on what  you would charge? 

11 replies
kristykgs Posted 22 Mar 2016 , 6:02pm
post #2 of 12

sweetchariot Posted 22 Mar 2016 , 6:38pm
post #3 of 12

The design seems simple enough with only buttercream. It looks like a nine inch cake.

i would charge about $75 for it. Anything less would not be worth my time. But you might be able to work faster than me. I tend to be slow ha!

-K8memphis Posted 22 Mar 2016 , 7:29pm
post #4 of 12

a professional decorator would pop that out in 8-9 minutes if they took a two minute break in between

-K8memphis Posted 22 Mar 2016 , 7:38pm
post #5 of 12

in other words no upcharge -- just straight base pricing for the piping -- maybe $5 for a bigger board and box and because you are making it into a butterfly -- so if you angle those wings more it will enhance the whole effect

kristykgs Posted 22 Mar 2016 , 9:33pm
post #6 of 12

sweetchariot - that is what another friend of mine (who bakes out of her home said)

K8memphis - You are correct, but I don't claim to be professional LOL. Haven't done this kind of piping in a very long time.

Appreciate both of your responses. It gave me exactly what I needed.

-K8memphis Posted 22 Mar 2016 , 9:58pm
post #7 of 12

i know you will make it beautiful and i think $3 ish a serving is respectable--

best to you

-K8memphis Posted 22 Mar 2016 , 10:02pm
post #8 of 12