Cake Turn Out Terrible!! Is It Me Or The Flour?

Baking By sweet-mimi1 Updated 20 Mar 2016 , 11:13pm by sweet-mimi1

sweet-mimi1 Posted 19 Mar 2016 , 7:45pm
post #1 of 13

Hello all! I'm new to this, I hope someone can help me and give me some good advice... I wanted to start baking cakes just for the family.. I went out to the store and seen a 50lb bag of cake flour I did a research on and never found any reviews on it and I still made the purchase. after purchasing the cake flour I tried the simple ingredients and baked the cake... Then cake came out super white / hard as a rock ... Didn't give up that easy, I tried something else with the cake flour and it came out the same way again. now I am starting to think that it's the flour not me. What am I doing wrong?? I'm so stressed out with the result.900_cake-turn-out-terrible_98639756edac58e2fb4.jpg

12 replies
Pastrybaglady Posted 19 Mar 2016 , 7:55pm
post #2 of 13

I've never heard of hi ratio flour, only hi ratio shortening.  If hi-ratio means it's milled extra fine how you measured will make all the difference in how your recipe came out. According to King Arthur and many others you need to stir and fluff the flour and then spoon gently into the measuring cup and then level. Some sift after that too.  If you just scoop and level you may have compacted too much flour into the cup.

sweet-mimi1 Posted 19 Mar 2016 , 8:37pm
post #3 of 13

Thank you for your comment. Same here I never heard of it either. I just wanted to try something to make a good cake. I measured everything accurately and also sifted. I wonder which flours are there that will for sure work

Cakes_and_Faith Posted 20 Mar 2016 , 3:07am
post #4 of 13

I'm not sure where you are from but Swan's Down cake flour is great. I use it for almost all my recipes.

sweet-mimi1 Posted 20 Mar 2016 , 3:55am
post #5 of 13