Advice On Daughter's Tiered Wedding Cake With Cake Dummies

Decorating By VanillaGorilla Updated 12 Mar 2016 , 1:27am by VanillaGorilla

VanillaGorilla Posted 11 Mar 2016 , 5:59am
post #1 of 8

I've been enjoying CC for years but finally decided to join due to a very happy event (my oldest daughter's marriage) coupled with a somewhat nerve-wracking one (I've been a hobby baker for years but have never done a tiered cake). 

My not-even-close-to-a-bridezilla-daughter picked out a simple but beautiful cake--6 tiers, 3 of cake with luscious swirls of chocolate frosting and 3 with the sides covered in red flowers (original had geraniums, I'm using silk carnations). The wedding is just 9 days away, and I don't have a good head count (seems that people don't know what rsvp means anymore!). I'm debating between fewer tiers overall (4 instead of 6) and the original 6-tier size but using 4 cake dummies instead of 3. The cake will be placed on an inverted silver vanity-type tray with a cut-work design. The topper is a silver mirror silhouette. 

What would be the best way to stack/dowel these cakes? I found 5" bamboo sticks (for lollipops, I think) about 1/4" diameter, and thought that maybe these would work well since they're strong and wouldn't need cutting. Bottom tier will certainly be a flower-covered dummy, and I'm thinking that the very top tier will likely be a frosted dummy for topper stability (the posts are rather thin, and might not hold as well in cake). On a good note, I will be making this cake in a commercial church kitchen, so there won't be any transport of the cake to a different location.

Thanks for any input and advice--I've learned so many helpful things from all you incredible bakers/decorators that I know if there's a best way to do this you will help me through it!

7 replies
johnson6ofus Posted 11 Mar 2016 , 6:23am
post #2 of 8

Stacking and doweling are two different functions.