Need Your Advice

Business By Xeina Updated 1 Mar 2016 , 12:27am by costumeczar

Xeina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Xeina Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 7:47pm
post #1 of 7

Hello all,

I am a new member; I am planning to start a homemade cake business.. I love cake decorating but I have limited experience if you would say.. Moreover, I really need your advice to start my business successfully..

How to make good portfolio and outstand among others?how to price my cakes?should My prices be lower than bakeries?and so on..

your adviced will be highly appreciated!

6 replies
bakemeenchanted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakemeenchanted Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 9:54pm
post #2 of 7

Hi Xeina! Welcome to Cake Central! Hope you have lots of fun here and learn loads! 8)

I'm not a very old or very experienced member myself, but I started a home-baking business 8 months ago, which is pretty recent, so I thought I could share my experience with you. I'm sure plenty of much more experienced members will give you their advice soon, but here are my 2 cents.

1. I think the very first thing you should do is check your skill set. You say you have limited experience - that's ok if you're good at what you do, but you should get as much practice as you can. At the very least, you should have a few tried and tested recipes, and sufficient practice of basic techniques. Preparing an order for a customer is not the time to experiment, and you won't have room for error.

2. Are customers willing to pay for your product? Most of us start out with friends and family telling us that we're so good and we should start a business. But family is biased, and friends are getting free cake, so compliments are easy to give. Try to get some impartial opinions. Maybe you could participate in some sort of community event and give away free samples. Bake sales and fairs are also a great place to set up a stall and see if people are willing to buy your product.