Fondarific Stuck To My Mat!

Decorating By tsal Updated 1 Mar 2016 , 7:54pm by maybenot

tsal Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 5:55pm
post #1 of 8

I am a hobby baker, and I usually use Satin Ice, but I tried Fondarific once in the past and it was soft and easy to work with. The downside is that it is more expensive than Satin Ice and I have to pay for shipping.

I decided to try it out again this weekend since my cake design was very simple (can't hide many flaws) and I wanted to avoid the elephant skin that I seem to always get with Satin Ice.

I opened the container and it was rock hard but the card inside explained what to do in that scenario so I followed the instructions (microwaved it) and then kneaded. It seemed smooth when I kneaded it and rolled it out (flipping once) until I tried to get it off the nonstick mat onto my cake. It stuck and tore in a few places leaving me in a panic as I have never encountered this problem with Satin Ice. It says on the Fondarific instructions that no shortening or powdered sugar is required for rolling so I am perplexed. I never use shortening or ps with Satin Ice, by the way.

advice? Did I get a bad batch? The expiry date is in 2017 so it was not expired or anything. The cake still turned out ok, but I had to add some flowers on to hide the flaws:

The whole idea of a nonstick mat is that nothing is supposed to stick to it!!!

7 replies
costumeczar Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 10:15pm
post #2 of 8

Nothing is totally non-stick...I would use shortening on any kind of mat just to make sure it doesn't stick to things. Fondarific has modeling chocolate in it, so if it was microwaved and kneaded that probably softens it up and might have made some of the fat kind of separate out, if that makes sense. I can see in my head exactly what the texture of it was, though. It could have just been a fluke, but my bet is that the microwaving was what did it.

tsal Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 10:57pm
post #3 of 8

Ah interesting. Thanks for the response!