U.k Pricing

Business By tessholly1 Updated 26 Feb 2016 , 9:27am by tessholly1

tessholly1 Posted 23 Feb 2016 , 5:36pm
post #1 of 3

Hi,

I'm starting a business right now after years of hobby baking.. I have all my certificates, checks and experience etc but I'm struggling with pricing.

As a hobby baker I charge family and friends for the ingredients, cake boxes etc but have not made profit. Now as I work out my wages and profit etc, as well as researching other businesses within my area, I'm worrying that family and friends are going to think Iv gone crazy.

For example I once charged £60 for a 2 tier cake with so much handmade detail and decoration.. But without wanting to undercut other bakers around me I would be bumping this up to around £200!!

want to make an actual wage and a profit so I know I should be charging these higher prices, it was just such a shock to me at how low I was pricing previously!!

Im hoping people understand that I'm trying to step it up and actually make a business now. If people come back and prices are double what they've paid before, how do I explain professionally?!

TIA for any advice :)

2 replies
Snowflakebunny23 Posted 23 Feb 2016 , 6:17pm
post #2 of 3