Just Starting And Need Help!

Business By cupcakesbykarla7 Updated 18 Feb 2016 , 9:03pm by cupcakesbykarla7

cupcakesbykarla7 Posted 18 Feb 2016 , 4:58pm
post #1 of 6

Hello everyone, I just started my cupcakes and cake pops business this year. I contacted the town where I live (West New York, New Jersey) and they told me I can't operate my business from home. In other words, I can't bake goods and sale them to the public. My second thought was to rent a Commercial kitchen and bake my cupcakes  there and then sale them. (by the way I just sent an email to the town asking if that was an option.) I have a FB page and Twitter promoting my business but I don't know what to do at this point and renting a location right now is not an option, since I'm just starting out.

Do you have any suggestions and/or advise. I would really appreciate it.

5 replies
Snowflakebunny23 Posted 18 Feb 2016 , 5:49pm
post #2 of 6

I'm in the UK so can't comment with much experience but from what I have read from this and other posts/articles, if your state doesn't have cottage food laws then you can't bake or trade from your home, end of.  You effectively have no legitimate business.  Sorry, that isn't meant to sound harsh.  If I were you, I would pull your business pages immediately because if you are 'caught' trading from your home when you shouldn't be, it may harm your business in the long term if and when you do make the business leap and rent a commercial space (if that is an acceptable option).  I know a lot of US cakers spend a LOT of money in converting parts of their house/garage/building new buildings to comply with their local laws.  It takes a lot more of an investments there to set up a cake business.  That's just the way it is.  We have it a lot easier with national cottage food laws but you can still be in serious trouble if you are selling something without being registered with your council.  Good luck x

Jinkies Posted 18 Feb 2016 , 6:21pm
post #3 of 6