Help Please One Tier Cake 80 Servings

Baking By Juli2527 Updated 6 Feb 2016 , 2:06pm by nadiacorallo

Juli2527 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Juli2527 Posted 5 Feb 2016 , 2:09pm
post #1 of 11

Good morning ladies, i am new in cake decorating i have my first big cake, the customer requested one round tier cake design star wars theme, to feed 80 people, have you done before one single tier with this amont of servings? If so which size pan did you use ?a 15  inch will work? I guess it is more covenient to make three tiers, but she wants one single tier. Thanks!

10 replies
veghed Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veghed Posted 5 Feb 2016 , 4:03pm
post #2 of 11

I am not a decorator or expert in any way; I just hang out here because I'm a wannabe.

But the first thing I thought was cupcakes on the side?  If she was willing.  My brother had a dice cakes for his BD, and the baker had cupcakes on the side on a cupcake tree.

It was nice.

Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 5 Feb 2016 , 5:43pm
post #3 of 11

According to the Wilton guide for wedding sized pieces 1" x 2" at 4" tall, a 14" round cake will give you 82 pieces!

yanci Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yanci Posted 5 Feb 2016 , 6:41pm
post #4 of 11

Hi - Here is a link to Wilton's serving guide.  There are many other ones online but this one is pretty standard.  If the cake is for a birthday be sure to use the Party Serving guide.  There is a big difference between a wedding cake and a party cake. 

http://www.wilton.com/cms-baking-serving-guide.html

Hope this helps.  Good luck. 

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 5 Feb 2016 , 10:53pm
post #5 of 11