Customer Frustration!!

Business By Cakemoms24 Updated 31 Jan 2016 , 12:43pm by Apti

Cakemoms24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakemoms24 Posted 30 Jan 2016 , 3:32pm
post #1 of 17

I am new to the baking business and have gotten a bunch of "requests"  for cakes, about 3 of them have already stopped contacting me further after i give them a price, and discuss dates, times and deposit for the cake, 1 was for this upcoming week and FINALLY the person responded back after never putting deposit down or refusing contact. I never start process of cakes until given a deposit but no contact for about 2 months and days before is when she decided to tell me She "forgot" to and she couldn't get it anymore. I also had 2 others that were the same, this is so frustrating to me because I have given up the same dates for orders I could have made. 1 bride did the same as well but backed out since she found someone cheaper.  I wasn't going to lower my price at all and confidant to stick with my initial quote but it is annoying this is happening, maybe they are liking the idea and not wanting to actually go through with it? or going around asking pricing and wasting my time. So I am wondering, at what point should i cancel the order based upon zero communication or issues with having any kind of deposit at the time specified. I have other potential orders and seem to think I may be forfeiting sincere requests for cakes just to have my time wasted....  

16 replies
Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 30 Jan 2016 , 3:52pm
post #2 of 17
I never start process of cakes until given a deposit but no contact for about 2 months and days before is when she decided to tell me She "forgot" to and she couldn't get it anymore.
Read more at http://www.cakecentral.com/forum/t/827855/customer-frustration#gGeUhOFrBZDUpGMV.99