Fillings

Decorating By jessica.n Updated 28 Jan 2016 , 12:45am by jessica.n

jessica.n Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessica.n Posted 27 Jan 2016 , 9:26am
post #1 of 9

Hi guys,

I am struggling a bit with a filling for a black forest cake that is to be covered in fondant. 

Im kind of new to cake decorating and would love and tips or tricks, ive been asked to make the cake as black forest, normally i would be finebbut they want it asna mud cale if possible. After a few failed attempts im hoping someone can help me! 

I feel like maybe the cherry filling is a bit saucy which is causing it to be slippery and i am also finding the cream is to weak to hold a mud cake ive tried a mocha cream as well a version of italian meringue butter cream, (ive noticed every recipe is different) ... maybe im not letting it set enough before stacking? Can someone walk me through this one?

Thanks in advance ☺

8 replies
Nana52 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nana52 Posted 27 Jan 2016 , 11:12am
post #2 of 9

Try adding some gelatin to the cherry filling.  Let the filling set up in the refrigerator for a bit to stiffen before using it on your cake layer.  After applying to the cake layer, refrigerate the cake until stiff enough to hold the next layer of cake.  I love SMBC and IMBC, those are my usual choices.  Unfortunately, as you say, they are "soft."  You may need to resort to a stiff American Buttercream to support a heavy cake.  Nana52

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 27 Jan 2016 , 4:38pm
post #3 of 9

whipped cream will turn to butter if whipped too long right -- so be sure you are whipping it to just before it turns to butter -- when cold it will hold very well for you -- but if it is under whipped it is a disaster --