Gritty Buttercream

Decorating By Debba53 Updated 22 Jan 2016 , 8:43pm by 640Cake

Debba53 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debba53 Posted 21 Jan 2016 , 7:15pm
post #1 of 4

I have been baking as a hobby for several years now and my butter cream is always gritty.  I have tried different 10X sugars, I have sifted the sugar before adding into the butter, I have used meringue powder, I have tried different butters.  I have tried beating it a long time.  I feel like I have tried everything and I cannot get creamy butter cream.  the recipe I use if from Epiocurious.com. 

I have also seen on Food TV that there is something that you pros use to make the icing creamy.  Can anyone PLEASE help. 

Thanks

Deb

3 replies
craftybanana2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
craftybanana2 Posted 22 Jan 2016 , 3:48am
post #2 of 4

I get creamy buttercream, used to be gritty until I switched to a kind that says "Cane Sugar." I also mix it for about 10 minutes. I've used a few recipes on here with success. The only "special equipment" I use is a mixer using the beater blade. A Simple recipe is 2 pounds of 10x Cane Sugar with 2 cups of butter/shortening with 1/4 cup of liquid. Do not use margarine or oil! The brand I use is Dominos brand. If it doesn't say cane sugar, it's probably not.

Here isIndydebi's, I have used all butter instead of shortening, but if you do that start with 1/4 cup of liquid instead of 1/3c.

http://www.cakecentral.com/recipe/6992/indydebis-crisco-based-buttercream-icing

There are also cooked flour buttercreams and meringue buttercreams too. :)

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 22 Jan 2016 , 12:52pm
post #3 of 4