Business Personal Property Rendition In Texas

Business By chrisyub Updated 16 Jan 2016 , 2:19pm by chrisyub

chrisyub Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chrisyub Posted 15 Jan 2016 , 6:39pm
post #1 of 6

I am a home baker in Texas, operating under the Cottage Food laws. At the beginning of the year, I went ahead and filed a DBA with the county. Yesterday I received a letter from the appraisal district letting me know that I needed to complete a Business Personal Property Rendition of Taxable Property.

I am slightly confused as to what this includes. The stove? My mixer? Flour? 

Also, is someone going to come knocking to verify what I do and don't have and what I'm using it for? 

Does anyone have any insight on how all this goes? If so, I would sure appreciate some input here!

5 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 16 Jan 2016 , 2:12am
post #2 of 6

If it's like the personal property tax we have in Virginia it includes things like your pans and your mixers. Things that you use for the business. I'd call the tax office to see what they say though. it's always better to get it from the source.

And may I just say that the idea that I have to pay a tax on my cake pans is the dumbest thing I've ever heard. 

johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 16 Jan 2016 , 5:23am
post #3 of 6

I just declare that which I purchased exclusively for my business. So like....not much.... at least for a while. 

My mixer (KitchenAid) was purchased and used for my family. I do not declare it as business property unless/until I buy a new one exclusively for business use. I go by the supplies/equipment line of the IRS 1040, schedule C forms (items that are not "one time" consumables).