Need Help On How To Charge A Cake

Business By Lalacc Updated 13 Jan 2016 , 5:28pm by -K8memphis

Lalacc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lalacc Posted 12 Jan 2016 , 5:28pm
post #1 of 11

I have to bake a single layer 8" inch cake, fully covered with white fondant for a customer. I am new to this and usually only make Cc but since its a close family friend I'll make an exception but how much should I charge for that cake? 

10 replies
cakesmith.oh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesmith.oh Posted 12 Jan 2016 , 8:14pm
post #2 of 11

Small cakes are always difficult to price because they're...well...small...and people don't want to pay a lot for something that's small  unless its a diamond :)

The formula I use for calculating prices is:

material cost + (hourly wage x hours worked) = cost of the cake

then I take the "cost of the cake" and add 25% profit (I have a home-based business so I pay myself a wage and put the 25% into the business account, but you don't have to add the 25% if you don't want to)

So, lets say your material cost is $7.50 and you spent 1 1/2 hours working on the cake (baking, icing, decorating)

$7.50 + ($15/hr x 1.5 hr) = cost of the cake

$7.50 + ($22.50) = $30.00  you can charge this amount...or

$30 + 25% profit= $37.50  you can charge this amount

For an 8" 2-layer cake I typically charge $45 and add $5 (for materials) if they want fondant.  So, $30 for a single layer decorated cake is not far off.  Don't sell yourself short.  Charge what you need to cover the materials plus extra for your time.