Baking Kitchen Organization Ideas...

Business By sweetooth94 Updated 12 Jan 2016 , 3:34pm by -K8memphis

sweetooth94 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetooth94 Posted 11 Jan 2016 , 9:37pm
post #1 of 10

My husband has started converting a portion of our detached garage into a baking kitchen for me.  I have been a licensed/legal baker - out of my home kitchen - for over 5+ years.  My business has grown so much that working out of my home kitchen just isn't working anymore.  Our kids are now teenagers and it's becoming harder and harder to work around my baking mess and still get dinner on the table each evening (around everyone's sports/work schedules - ugh!!).  We needed to find a way for me to continue to bake and grow my business without cramping our family-function even more and we decided that building me a separate baking space was the solution.  I am so excited to FINALLY be doing this!  Walls are up, plumbing is run, bathroom with a mop sink is framed out, electrical is in, heat has been run through the floors - we are ready to start the layout (of course, we have a 'general' plan already, so we knew where to place the plumbing and electrics :-))

I was researching some old baking/commercial kitchen organization threads on here, but none are exactly what I need.  I was hoping some people wouldn't mind sharing some hints with me on how they set up their work stations/space.  For those of you who have dedicated baking space in your home or have built a separate baking kitchen, can you tell me what you love about your space?  How about what you wish you would have done differently?  Do you mind sharing any tips or tricks with organizing all this baking gear - pastry tips, pastry bags, cookie cutters, fondant tools, boxes, boards, cake pans, stands, a nice 'photo' location, etc.  All suggestions/ideas welcome!!

Thanks in advance!

9 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 11 Jan 2016 , 10:20pm
post #2 of 10