Sizes For A Wedding Cake - 40 Guests

Baking By lannabelle Updated 11 Jan 2016 , 1:12am by Apti

lannabelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lannabelle Posted 9 Jan 2016 , 12:25am
post #1 of 15

Hi everyone, 

I have used this forum so much for advice, but this is my first time posting. 

I need some help crafting my first wedding cake!

My friend is getting married and wants me to make her cake. She only has 40 guests, and want to save the top tier for the 1st year anniversary. 

I am torn between using a 6" and an 8" vs. an 8" and a 10". The sizing charts online say that a 6" and an 8" will serve 40, but I don't want them to run out of cake! 

Any advice would be great!

Thanks in advance!

Alanna

14 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 9 Jan 2016 , 12:36am
post #2 of 15

You could do a 5-7-9 to give it some height. I think that's around 50 servings not including the top tier, but I could be a little off. With a cake that small, though, it's nice to have the taller size. Or you could do a 4-6-8 and give them the top tier and that should be enough and still give you three tiers.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 9 Jan 2016 , 3:07am
post #3 of 15

I suggest a 10/6 or 7 round  - or 10"sq w/6" round combination.  The 10" round will serve 48(?) wedding sized pieces.    Give the bride a choice of what you can do and how close to her #s it will come to. 

Another option to make a 'bigger' cake is to use a styro tier -  either the top or bottom tier -  but than you need to charge just a bit less than it would cost if 'real' cake was used as most of the work is in decorating - not the baking of cake. 

I personally do not like the cakes that have only 2" difference ie: 4,6,8 etc).  They don't look right to me  AND they are much more difficult to deliver:(   Here are a few I have made in those sizes to give  you an idea of how they will look.